About me

I am Tilly, an Ofsted registered childminder and a proud mother of a 3 and half years old daughter with a passion for play as the best way to learn, to interact, and to communicate. I live in Greater Leys, Oxford, together with my family which is my rock. My husband, Robert is a very supportive person who always encourages me to follow up on my dreams. We are well known to the local community as we are active members of the play groups in our area. Our family has one more member, a very affectionate and playful cat, named Sky.

I have extensive knowledge and experience of the psychology of child development and academic background in social work. My mother used to be a kindergarten qualified teacher and I’ve got the love for working with children from her. Stepping into my mother shoes I have graduated a 5 years Vocational Pedagogical High school which qualifies me as an Early Years teacher as well as a Primary school teacher. However, I have always reached high, therefore I studied for 4 years university studies to become a social worker (bachelor’s degree in Social work). I have had various adult and child social work placements whilst studying, alongside different volunteering jobs.

I have self-funded my studies working in a restaurant whilst going to university. This is how I fell in love with gastronomy and the art of cooking and I pursued a career as a chef working in high ranked restaurants. The last restaurant I worked is a 4 stars restaurant in Littlemore, Oxford which has achieved a culinary award/ 1 AA rosette whilst I was on duty as a sous chef.

I qualified and specialised as a chef too, and when I graduated university, I completed other related hospitality courses. I achieved a Master degree in Tourism as I wanted to know as much as possible about the sector I was working in. At that time, I knew I wanted to travel to get to know the world and I used the experience gained in a 4 stars restaurant as an executive chef to access a job abroad. I have worked on high ranked cruise ships as a chef, on the Danube getting to travel along Europe for 4 years. I had the chance to work in multi-cultural environments which provided me with great opportunities to learn about different cultures and their specifics.  Working in hospitality on cruise ships allowed me to learn German language as well.

When I had my daughter I decided it was time to stop working in hospitality as I couldn’t afford to do the long hours anymore.

I’ve been working in adult mental health sector for a few years which I relished due to my caring nature. However, working with people with mental health gave me the opportunity to practice social work skills. This is how I realised, once again, how important are childhood and having a strong foundation to succeed in life.  Also, having my own child provided me with endless opportunities to practice my knowledge about child development and childcare skills.

I have completed a Level 3 Home based childcare Course , despite being a qualified Early Years teacher and a band 6 qualified Social Worker, as I recognised the need to refresh my knowledge and to update myself into current legislation framework. I do regular training in order to keep my knowledge and practice informed about.

I meet also all the other mandatory training requirements: Paediatric First aid Course, Food Hygiene and Safeguarding Generalist and Designated Safeguarding Lead. All certificates are available on request.